MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos - View Single Post - I need some advice

View Single Post

Old 04-19-2010, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
coldcall420
Banned

coldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty cornercoldcall420 Is in the naughty corner
Quote:
Originally Posted by luger0 View Post
I am looking to step inside a ring for a debut fight to see how far I have come.

Currently I weigh 170-72.5 pounds at 5'11" with less than 10% body-fat. I have been an athlete for nearly all my life.

So far I know I want to utilize a stand-up game of heavy hand-strikes, elbows,knees and leg-strikes. I have some background in wrestling.

Back in January I decided to cut myself into shape. For the last two months I have been working myself past what my mind tells me I can do. My workout philosophy is pretty simple and straight-forward: "If I do a set of heavy days I better be feeling the workout pain during the night and at least 2 days after if not I did nothing beneficial".

I have a regimen where I do a Monday & Tuesday as my heaviest days. Whatever I do on Monday I force my body to do double the next day.

Like most men looking into this sport I have very little cash to devote to equipment. Right now I use a 80 pound weight in a back-pack for dual-armed curls along with a 40-pound bag of rock-salt. Last weekend I picked up a body-bag which will be hung later today. Sadly this is all I can say I have for training materials.