Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner

Striking vs. Grappling

1K views 10 replies 11 participants last post by  doomed28 
#1 ·
Ok so I am new to this site and this is my first thread post. So here it goes.

I am just curious how many people preferr striking to grappling, or viseversa...Anyway I am a striker. I am 6'6 and weigh in at 275. I have found that being big can acomodate striking much better than grappling. I am not saying it doesn't work for everyone but for me it has worked great. I have been practicing for about 5 years but havent done any real big fights to give myself a proffesional record. I am from the Sacramento area in California and am very interested in getting into some good tournaments.

#2 ·
Shotokan4Life said:

I am just curious how many people preferr striking to grappling, or viseversa...Anyway I am a striker. I am 6'6 and weigh in at 275. I have found that being big can acomodate striking much better than grappling. I am not saying it doesn't work for everyone but for me it has worked great. I have been practicing for about 5 years but havent done any real big fights to give myself a proffesional record. I am from the Sacramento area in California and am very interested in getting into some good tournaments.
start at a local smokers.
your a bit too late to register for golden gloves, but thet goes down late april, or early may around here.

#3 · (Edited)
Well, its pretty even, if the striker doesnt know any grappling then the grappler would win, but this generation of strikers know alot of grappling, all in all i think thier pretty tied up, if the grappler takes it to the ground its gona be almost impossible for the striker to win, but if the grappler takes to much time being on his legs, then the striker will win.

But if i had to pick i would take grappling over striking.

Im a grappler myself.

#6 ·
I eventually want to be so well rounded that I don't really care if a fight is standing or on the ground. But naturally I always want to strike.