Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner

Questions on training.

2K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  No_Mercy 
#1 ·
I am a new student at Roufusport MMA Academy. I am working Muay Thai Kickboxing and BJJ. I am only 5-6 classes in, but my bjj isn't so good to everyone elses. Obviously, some of the people have been training there for a while, but what kind of tips could you guys offer to a new guy in bjj?? Also, my trainign days usually consist of Muay Thai first for an hour, then bjj after for another hour. Would you recommend I train separate days? BJJ first because of the demanding nature? or is what I am doing just fine?

#2 · (Edited)
There isn't really any magical ways to get good at BJJ. It all come down to the number of hours you put on the mats. I can't tell you much about MMA since I'm new too, but since I've been in the BJJ communauty for about a year and a half, let me tell you something: Just focus on the basic.

Basic knowledge is what you should focus on, if you try new techniques and fancy stuff everytime, you'll just forget it when you grapple. Have an escape or two for every position, find a couple of submissions you like and work on it. Also, focus on using THE LESS STRENGH you possibly use. That way you're technique will get much better and you'll be able to take on bigger and stronger guys.

And remember, BJJ is way more complex than it seems, you'll probably be in the "I suck" zone for 1-2 years before you start being "just okay".

#3 ·