MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos - View Single Post - The Photography Thread

View Single Post

Old 10-29-2012, 06:16 AM   #59 (permalink)
K R Y

K R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is UntouchableK R Y Is Untouchable
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClydebankBlitz View Post
I studied cinematography for a little bit, and I do graphic design, so I understand the concepts of it, but as an artform in itself? Not really in my opinion.
Just picking up a camera, taking a shot of a mountain, isn't an art form. I can agree with that. There is a huge difference however between pointing and shooting and actual photography. It's capturing a moment in time and portraying it how you want it to be portrayed, or how it made you feel at the time.

Putting thought into the shot, the composition, the filters used to control the exposure, the length of the exposure to create effects in the exposure, such as blurred water/clouds from a high stop ND filter, the depth of field, post processing work.

Actual photography is an art form. Picking up your iphone and snapping a photo randomly isn't. Again, there is a difference.

I've studied graphic design, photography and fine art. I personally find photography the best art form there is. Photography literally mean 'painting with light'. If you don't understand light and how to manage it in a photo, chances are you are not going to get a *great* shot.