Notice Melvin is holding onto Varner, Melvin not Varner is in control of Melvins head. That means its not a spike which means no point deduction.
Ok, if those are the rules, then i agree that points should not have had been deducted. Thanks for the enlightenment on the matter.
However, i do feel that Varner knew Melvin was hiting the ground with his head in a brutal way and i feel that due to the danger of a serious injury, that should be taken into account when evaluating/preventing this kind of situations.
McCall, Faber, Aldo, Nate, Nick, Lyoto, TBD, Hunt
Forever hanging in Anderson Silva nuts