MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos - View Single Post - Kind of a beginner here

View Single Post

Old 01-06-2007, 11:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Don
Welterweight

The Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really niceThe Don is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ybot
I do want to state from the beginning I am only a fan of MMA and not a fighter, so any advice I give should be taken with that in mind. I do have 6+ years of BJJ training, but never intend to fight in a MMA event.

Okay, that said,I am a a strong believer in having a very strong base in one fighting range before attempting MMA. I look at the top fighters today and they have at least one range of combat they specialize in. Whether it be striking range, clinching range, or mat grappling (top or bottom).

As a person with a wrestling background you should look for a way that you can dominate an opponent from the mat. You should have a solid top game already, and continuing with the BJJ for a year or two should give you enough background to understand and defend subs from there. In your BJJ training you should also zone in on a few bread and butter subs from the top that you can pull off, and really concentrate on reversing and sweeping from the bottom (in case you are put on your back).