Win a Championship by DQ? - MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos
General MMA Discussion Discuss King Of The Cage, Ultimate Challenge UK, and HDNet Fights as well as general mixed martial arts discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Panic-wrestler
 
UKMMAGURU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,995
                     
Win a Championship by DQ?

Simple question, does anybody know if it is possible to lose/win a championship via DQ?

E.g.

Jon Jones-Matt Hamill
Wes Sims-Frank Mir
Luiz Cane-James Irvin
UKMMAGURU is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 03:34 PM
The Title Guy
 
kantowrestler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orange, California
Posts: 13,072
                     
That is a very good question. It might be possible but you have to take one thing into consideration. Frankie Edgar drew with Gray Maynard and got to keep the title, so it's anybodies guess.

The Emoticon Guy
kantowrestler is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 04:00 PM
HiiiPoWeR
 
Rauno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Estonia
Posts: 17,676
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by kantowrestler View Post
That is a very good question. It might be possible but you have to take one thing into consideration. Frankie Edgar drew with Gray Maynard and got to keep the title, so it's anybodies guess.
In that case it was more of a matter if the challenger can walk away with a victory or not which he didn't, that's why Frankie walked away with the belt.

I have no idea about a DQ victory scenario though.

Rauno is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 04:16 PM
Bantamweight
 
MMAnWEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 910
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by kantowrestler View Post
That is a very good question. It might be possible but you have to take one thing into consideration. Frankie Edgar drew with Gray Maynard and got to keep the title, so it's anybodies guess.
You've got to beat the champ to be the champ.

For sure you'd get the belt if you won via DQ but expect an immediate rematch depending on the circumstances.
MMAnWEED is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 08:29 PM
The Title Guy
 
kantowrestler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orange, California
Posts: 13,072
                     
So an automatic rematch would be something accidental that was declared a DQ by the ref and could've been otherwise. An opposite situation would be where someone did something deliberately and was cut by Dana White otherwise. But otherwise I see your point.

The Emoticon Guy
kantowrestler is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 08:59 PM
Elusive
 
mattandbenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,092
                     
Yea i dont see why you wouldnt get the title, you've won the fight (albeit by dq), so your now the champ!



FORMER UFC CPL CHAMPION

CPL RECORD: 5-3

Events Attended: UFC 120, CWFC 45, CWFC 52
mattandbenny is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 09:30 PM
The Title Guy
 
kantowrestler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orange, California
Posts: 13,072
                     
A DQ is unfortunate but it happens.

The Emoticon Guy
kantowrestler is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 10:01 PM
Middleweight
 
KillerShark1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 2,806
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMAnWEED View Post
You've got to beat the champ to be the champ.

For sure you'd get the belt if you won via DQ but expect an immediate rematch depending on the circumstances.
This is 100% right, a win is a win and the title would chance hands no matter what the method of victory is.


KillerShark1985 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 05:52 AM
It's Hammer Time!
 
Hammerlock2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,589
                     
This is not pro wrestling. If the champ gets himself disqualified he loses the fight and the belt.

It would be interesting to know if this has ever happened though.




Rookie Hammer Squad 2015
Frankie Edgar - Dominick Cruz - Jorge Masvidal - Cat Zingano - Holly Holm
Hammerlock2.0 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 06:38 AM
Kneel Before Christ!
 
Roflcopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8,024
                     
It's not the ******* WWF. Of course you can lose a championship by DQ. It's happened in boxing...not sure about MMA though. DQs are extremely rare in MMA for whatever reason.

Roflcopter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome