MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos

MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos (http://www.mmaforum.com/)
-   K-1 Grand Prix (http://www.mmaforum.com/k-1-grand-prix/)
-   -   K1 Announces Gracie V Sakuraba 2 (http://www.mmaforum.com/k-1-grand-prix/13902-k1-announces-gracie-v-sakuraba-2-a.html)

Judoka 05-08-2007 10:21 PM

K1 Announces Gracie V Sakuraba 2
 
FEG, ProElite and Showtime today released details of the fight card for their upcoming event “Softbank present Dynamite!! USA in association with ProElite” – quite possibly the longest event name in mixed martial arts history. Aside from the already announced main event of Hong Man Choi vs. Brock Lesnar, the co-main event is now confirmed to feature Royce Gracie in a rematch with Kazushi Sakuraba, pending Sakuraba’s medical clearance.

Gracie and Sakuraba fought once before in a legendary battle on May 1, 2000 in a “no-time-limit” bout consisting of repeated 15-minute rounds until a winner was declared. Sakuraba won the fight after more than 90 minutes had transpired when Gracie’s corner threw in the towel due to a leg injury.

The June 2nd event is unique as it will all take place at the 90,000-plus seat Los Angeles Coliseum, but will be aired in various forms on Showtime’s premium channel and pay-per-view arm. There will be an undercard that will transpire live at the Coliseum, but not air on television; another portion of the undercard featuring EliteXC fighters that will air on the Showtime premium channel; and the main card on pay-per-view.

The fight card as officially announced:

SHOWTIME PPV (7pm PT / 10pm ET):
Brock Lesnar vs. Hong Man Choi
Royce Gracie vs. Kazushi Sakuraba
Mighty Mo vs. Mu Bae Choi
Melvin Manhoef vs. Dong Sik Yoon

SHOWTIME PREMIUM CHANNEL (6pm PT / 9pm ET):
Jake Shields vs. Ido Pariente
Gina Carano vs. Jan Finney

STADIUM ONLY – Non-televised (5pm PT / 8pm ET):
Javier Vazquez vs. Katsuhiko Nagata
Brad Pickett vs. Hideo Tokoro

Other fighters announced, but without opponents named include: Johnnie Morton, Ray Sefo, Antonio Silva and J.Z. Calvancanti.

Although not officially announced, it is believed that Johnnie Morton will face Bernard Ackah and Ray Sefo will fight Marvin Eastman on the pay-per-view broadcast, Antonio Silva will compete on the Showtime telecast, and J.Z. Calvancanti will match up against Nam Phan in a non-televised bout.

"Info came from MMAfanatics.com"

LV 2 H8 U 05-09-2007 10:04 AM

Royce is coming into this fight with a better standup game than we've ever seen from him before. I'm looking forward to seeing what he can do this time.

Organik 05-10-2007 12:38 AM

cant wait to see brock lesnars debut.. will be interesting for sure


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.8 , Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2