SAO PAULO – Yuri Alcantara walked away from the octagon disappointed after a no contest. But at least financially, he shouldn't be upset.
Alcantara (27-4 MMA, 2-1 UFC) will be awarded his win bonus after his no contest with UFC newcomer Pedro Nobre (14-1-2 MMA, 0-0 UFC). UFC Managing Director of International Development Marshall Zelaznik confirmed the news with MMAjunkie.com (www.mmajunkie.com
) at Saturday's post-event news conference for "UFC on FX: Belfort vs. Bisping."
"Yuri ended up getting his win bonus," Zelaznik told MMAjunkie.com.
UFC on FX 7 took place at Ibirapuera Gymnasium in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The main card aired on FX following prelims on FUEL TV and Facebook.
On the night's preliminary card, Alcantara found himself on the ground with Nobre, who took the fight on fewer than two weeks' notice. He went to work on Nobre's arm and appeared to have a kimura. Nobre survived, only to have Alcantara on his back raining down punches.
Referee Dan Miragliotta warned Alcantara to watch for strikes to the back of the head. But after three punches, Miragliotta called time for what he deemed to be illegal shots. Replays appeared to show Alcantara landing an elbow to the side of Nobre's head, then several punches to the side of the head. None appeared to land on the back of the head.
But Nobre was asked if he could continue, and ultimately said the strikes left him unable to go on. The fight was waved off as a no contest in the first round. The crowd in Sao Paulo loudly booed Nobre, believing he may have been acting.
Even UFC President Dana White, not in attendance following ear surgery, said on Twitter: "That was BS!!! Pedro is an award winning actor and horrible call by Dan M."
But regardless of whether Nobre was engaging in some gamesmanship or what the right call might have been, Alcantara at least will go home with both his show and win money.