***OFFICIAL*** Travis Browne vs. Gabriel Gonzaga Thread - Page 5 - MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos
UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) is a U.S.-based mixed martial arts organization, recognized as the largest MMA promotion in the world. The UFC is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada and is owned and operated by Zuffa, LLC. This promotion is responsible for solidifying the sport's postion in the history-books. UFC is currently undergoing a remarkable surge in popularity, along with greater mainstream media coverage. UFC programming can now be seen on FOX, FX, and FUEL TV in the United States, as well as in 35 other countries worldwide.

View Poll Results: Your prediction

Travis Browne 12 60.00%
Gabriel Gonzaga 8 40.00%
Draw 0 0%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Old 04-13-2013, 09:53 PM   #41 (permalink)
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 110
Roki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to allRoki977 is a name known to all
Blow to the back of the head knocked him out and the big one. Very dangerous stuff and I dont like it. He wants bonus for it, sure..
Roki977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 04-13-2013, 09:55 PM   #42 (permalink)

 
Toxic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: See that guy over in the window, with the binoculars?
Posts: 21,085
Toxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among MenToxic Is A God Among Men
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roflcopter View Post
Were they directly to the back?

You can hit the back of the head as long as it isn't the Mohawk area exactly in the center.
He hit it no matter how you break it down, heck one hit right on the base of the spine which I believe is the whole point of that rule to begin with.
__________________



"If you get hit and it hurts hit him back you not knocked out yet."-Joe Doerksen
The Toxic Terrors (FFL)
Demetrious Johnson*Eduardo Dantas*Rafael Silva*Zach Makovsky*Michael Page



Toxic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:58 PM   #43 (permalink)
Bantamweight
 
HorsepoweR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Johnsburg, Illinois
Posts: 656
HorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level nowHorsepoweR is on another level now
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roflcopter View Post
Were they directly to the back?

You can hit the back of the head as long as it isn't the Mohawk area exactly in the center.
Well if he had a slim mowhawk then id say it was only the last one but the others in my eyes were really close.
__________________
BJ The Prodigy Penn
Alexander The Mauler Gustafsson
Cain Brock Smasher Velasquez

NPFFL
Renan Barao
Lyoto Machida|Vitor Belfort
Gilbert Melendez|Robbie Lawler
HorsepoweR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:03 AM   #44 (permalink)
It's Hammer Time!
 
Hammerlock2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,810
Hammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings System
That was a DQ if I ever saw one. The first two elbows looked like they were on the ear, the third appeared to graze the back of the head and the following two were just blatant illegal shots.

Last edited by Hammerlock2.0 : 04-14-2013 at 08:06 AM.
Hammerlock2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:37 AM   #45 (permalink)
BEWARE OF THE PENGUIN!
 
No_Mercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,351
No_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF MaterialNo_Mercy Is Future HOF Material
Anybody ever see a knockout like that with the back against the fence. Interesting.
__________________
Marcus Aurelius: Tell me again, Maximus, why are we here?
Maximus: For the glory of the Empire, sire.

Baked, not fried... the healthy choice.

No_Mercy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:50 AM   #46 (permalink)
Super Heavyweight
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,155
420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness
I would say they were legal until Gonzaga was already unconscious.



As you can see Gonzaga was clearly out after the 3rd elbow. The 4th one was close and the last 2 were to the back of the head but that was because Gonzaga's unconcious head fell down so it was directly in the path of Browne's elbows.

Browne probably should have stopped when Gonzaga went limp but the ref could have been a little quicker as well.
420atalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:54 PM   #47 (permalink)
ROCKET FISTS
 
khoveraki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5,743
khoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roflcopter View Post
Were they directly to the back?

You can hit the back of the head as long as it isn't the Mohawk area exactly in the center.
They describe it as: If you are wearing headphones, it's anywhere behind them. All but one elbow in the flurry counts as illegal.


Doesn't matter if the KO ones were legal anyway. The rules are for fighter safety, not to determine who wins and loses. Browne executed several dangerous illegal moves and should be penalized.
__________________
WAR CIGANO



sig credit to Limba

lobster train.
khoveraki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:07 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Heavyweight
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,155
420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness
Quote:
Originally Posted by khoveraki View Post
They describe it as: If you are wearing headphones, it's anywhere behind them. All but one elbow in the flurry counts as illegal.


Doesn't matter if the KO ones were legal anyway. The rules are for fighter safety, not to determine who wins and loses. Browne executed several dangerous illegal moves and should be penalized.
Wrong, the definition as per the NSAC website states the following.

"No direct striking attacks are allowed to the spine or the back of the head. A direct strike is an aimed and executed attack to the area. The back of the head is considered the direct center of the head with 1’ inch of tolerance to either side."

All but the last 2 strikes were legal by their explanation due to area and the last 2 strikes are legal because Browne was intending to strike the side of Gonzaga's head but Gonzaga going unconscious caused his head to fall into a dangerous position.

Here are the rules and interpretations fyi.

http://boxing.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/b...ERIA_01-13.pdf
420atalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:46 PM   #49 (permalink)
ROCKET FISTS
 
khoveraki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5,743
khoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renownkhoveraki Is World Renown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420atalon View Post
Wrong, the definition as per the NSAC website states the following.

"No direct striking attacks are allowed to the spine or the back of the head. A direct strike is an aimed and executed attack to the area. The back of the head is considered the direct center of the head with 1’ inch of tolerance to either side."

All but the last 2 strikes were legal by their explanation due to area and the last 2 strikes are legal because Browne was intending to strike the side of Gonzaga's head but Gonzaga going unconscious caused his head to fall into a dangerous position.

Here are the rules and interpretations fyi.

http://boxing.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/b...ERIA_01-13.pdf

That's confusing as basically every source claims there's a compromised rule combining the Headphone standard and Mohawk Standard since 2009:

Quote:
Illegal Strikes to the Back of the Head

The Committee has found a compromise between the Mohawk definition and the headphones definition. The Committee recommends a nape of the neck definition. Basically, the group concluded that a strike that touches the ear is generally acceptable. Strikes are not permissible in the nape of the neck area up until the top of the ears. Above the ears, permissible strikes do not include the Mohawk area from the top of the ears up until the crown of the head. The crown of the head is found where the head begins to curve. In other words, strikes behind the crown of the head and above the ears are not permissible within the Mohawk area. Strikes below the top of the ear are not permissible within the nape of the neck area.


Herb Dean also claims the Headphone standard:

Quote:
“Ears back is considered the back of the head,” said Dean. “Like if you’re wearing headphones and they’re going up over the top of the head, so anything that’s behind the ears would be the foul area… It can be on the side of the head, but if it’s behind the ears it’s considered the back of the head.”

“That’s something we’ve only been enforcing in MMA as the back of the head for about the last two years.[article from 2008] That started when MMA became legalized in California,” Dean explained. “Dr. Paul Wallace came to a referee seminar that we were doing and explained to us, diagrammed and explained to us what is supposed to be the back of the head. I talked to him in detail about it and then I talked to Armando Garcia, who is executive director, and he said, ‘that’s what we want to be enforced for the back of the head, from the ears back.’”
http://sports.yahoo.com/mma/news?slug=ys-mmaweek063008
__________________
WAR CIGANO



sig credit to Limba

lobster train.
khoveraki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:53 PM   #50 (permalink)
Super Heavyweight
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,155
420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness420atalon Is Destined For Greatness
Quote:
Originally Posted by khoveraki View Post
That's confusing as basically every source claims there's a compromised rule combining the Headphone standard and Mohawk Standard since 2009:





Herb Dean also claims the Headphone standard:



http://sports.yahoo.com/mma/news?slug=ys-mmaweek063008
The mohawk standard is pretty much the NSAC's definition on their website(1 inch either way of the center of the back of the head).

I have no idea where the headphone standard came from other then some peoples(possibly including Herb Dean) interpretations of the rule as many consider that to be the back of the head.

What they actually enforce etc I am not sure but considering the NSAC has their rules right on the website it is pretty cut and dry what would hold up if a case were made of this.
420atalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

VerticalSports
Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums
Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
Powered by vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2009 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios