Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hurricane Alley (Daytona)
This fight could NOT be ruled a NO CONTEST… A no contest can only be ruled if a fight is stopped due to an accidental foul, such as both fighters leaning in an head butting each other or an accidental eye poke.
In this case the foul was intentional and repeated. It was no accident. Therefore if the fight is stopped after a foul, it has to be ruled a disqualification. Pretty simple! Just because you think a NC is less damaging to a fighters record does not mean that it is the right call!
So how come the burns/Johnson fight was not call a NC? Simple! The ref did not see the eye poke and can not call it a NC. The ref has to witness the foul… It was a very poor job by the ref, but following the rules it was not a NC.
Do I think Hamill had a chance at winning this fight if the elbows were not dropped? Not at all, the fight was pretty much over, but that does not open the door to cheating! You have to follow the rules, winning or loosing!
Dan The Ju