As far as I know there isn't a single rule in all of MMA that is as confusing as the downwards elbow rule. It's been discussed several times on this board when it applies and when it doesn't. The last time if I remember correctly, the consensus at the end was that it apparently means downwards elbows to the top of the head from the standing position, such as the MT flying elbow. Now it seems that we were wrong, and I'm more confused than before.
So Jones got a DQ loss, big deal. Every single person who saw the fight still knows:
1. ...that there wouldn't have been any illegal elbows if Mazz had known when to stop the fight.
2. ...that the illegal elbows didn't end the fight.
3. ...that Jones was by far the better fighter yesterday.