It has nothing to do with being in a tournament. If Anderson did the same thing to Okami on Saturday, Okami would still be the winner by DQ.
This is correct. The tournament format was irrelevant. Every set of rules from an AC I've ever seen states that an intentional foul that ends a contest results in a DQ.
So is eye poking (after multiple warnings) and knees to a down opponent accidental or not.Yet kevin burns and olivera werent DQ'd or handed loses in those fights.
Its isnt "obvious" clearly its murky and the fact no one has given a definitive answer proves as such
Maz didn't see the eyepoke that took Johnson down. He was on the opposite side, and ruled it a punch. The athletic commission let instant replay determine if a foul caused the bout stoppage in the future, but didn't change the result of the fight, because they didn't already have a method for overturning a referee's call with instant replay.
As for the Silva-Okami fight, Mandaloniz ruled the foul intentional, which was the correct call, since Silva obviously did intend to kick Okami in the head. ROTR was using the unified rules, which basically always say this:
The original rules out of New Jersey
13:46-24A.16 Injuries sustained during competition
(b) If an injury sustained during competition as a result of an intentional foul is severe enough to terminate a bout, the contestant causing the injury loses by disqualification.
NAC 467.698 Fouls: Intentional. (NRS 467.030)
1. If the referee determines that a contest or exhibition may not continue because of an injury caused by an intentional foul, the unarmed combatant who committed the intentional foul loses by disqualification.
I tried to find Hawaii's rules, but when I was on their website, all I could find was the legal info, not the actual rules of the contest.