Silva DQ still stands, Zuffa implements instant replay at all self-regulated events - Page 2 - MMA Forum - UFC Forums - UFC Results - MMA Videos
UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) is a U.S.-based mixed martial arts organization, recognized as the largest MMA promotion in the world. The UFC is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada and is owned and operated by Zuffa, LLC. This promotion is responsible for solidifying the sport's postion in the history-books. UFC is currently undergoing a remarkable surge in popularity, along with greater mainstream media coverage. UFC programming can now be seen on FOX, FX, and FUEL TV in the United States, as well as in 35 other countries worldwide.

Reply

Old 01-20-2012, 08:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
MMA Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 60
OrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really niceOrionTC is just really nice
your crazy if you think that fight was going any other way after carlo was dropped, i counted one illegal strike and it was irrevalent to the outcome of the fight.

vitor "back of the head" belfort landed several against sexiyama and nothing came of it and he was doing more to fight back than carlo turtling up.

just imo anyway.
OrionTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 01-20-2012, 09:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Resident Drunk
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
 
MagiK11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,532
MagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings System
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammerlock2.0 View Post
That's complete bullshit. The UFC just rewarded a fighter that used illegal strikes to end a fight.

The instant replay won't do anything if the ref can watch the footage, see illegal strikes, DQ the guy and then ZUFFA gives him a win bonus.
What? Are you being serious? Did you not see the fight?

Honesty, there was one hammer fist that hit the back of his head, while all the other's hit the side of his head and shoulder.

Do you know how many times I've seen fights where the fighter is punching a fighter and one or two strikes hit the back of his head while all the rest hit the side? TONS of times. Most BJ Penn fights come to mind. So based on that should BJ have been disqualified every time a single punch grazes the back of a fighters head?

Come on!!
__________________

1. BJ "The Prodigy" Penn
2. Dan "Hollywood" Henderson
3. George "Rush" St Pierre
MagiK11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Featherweight
 
dario03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,000
dario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level nowdario03 is on another level now
So how is the instant replay going to work in future similar situations? Silva did land at least one illegal strike but that happens a lot without fighters getting a DQ. So is one strike without a verbal warning going to be enough to stop reversing a decision? Or are they going to let small things slide?
__________________
The Reigning, Defending, Undisputed MMAFNPFFL Grand Master Champion of The Universe!!!
dario03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
It's Hammer Time!
 
Hammerlock2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,317
Hammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemHammerlock2.0 Is Beyond A Rankings System
I realize it happens quite a lot but that doesn't make it less illegal.

I saw the first two or three punches in the sprawl position going to the back of the head. Those were game changing punches. Before that he was still trying to fight back, after that he was curling up trying to protect his face. Out of all the punches Silva threw in sprawl position not even one was 100% legal.

Here's a gif:



Now, this gif says all those ear strikes are legal (I'm only using it because it clearly shows you where Prater was hit). Well, as I see it they're not on the ear but well behind the ear thus making them illegal. Personally I don't know what the guy who made this was thinking. You can clearly see Silva hit Prater four to five times on the 'back of the head' area.

That's a reason for a DQ if I ever saw one.
Hammerlock2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Resident Drunk
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
 
MagiK11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,532
MagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings SystemMagiK11 Is Beyond A Rankings System
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammerlock2.0 View Post
I realize it happens quite a lot but that doesn't make it less illegal.

I saw the first two or three punches in the sprawl position going to the back of the head. Those were game changing punches. Before that he was still trying to fight back, after that he was curling up trying to protect his face. Out of all the punches Silva threw in sprawl position not even one was 100% legal.

Here's a gif:



Now, this gif says all those ear strikes are legal (I'm only using it because it clearly shows you where Prater was hit). Well, as I see it they're not on the ear but well behind the ear thus making them illegal. Personally I don't know what the guy who made this was thinking. You can clearly see Silva hit Prater four to five times on the 'back of the head' area.

That's a reason for a DQ if I ever saw one.

Good post, but I have to disagree that it should have been ruled a DQ. If the ref thought the hits were illegal he should have halted the action, took a point away and see if the other fighter could continue and give him time to recoup.

In this case though, that one strike did not have an outcome on the fight in my opinion, but from the ref's point of view I can see how he thought there were several shots which hit the back of his head.

The only thing which surprises me is after watching the replay and even that gif you posted, how you can support not giving Silva a win bonus. But I think we're just going to have to agree to disagree.

EDIT: I checked the gif again, and I don't see the shots hitting the back of his head. I am trying to remain as unbiased as I can, and I think one or MAYBE two hammer fits hit the back of his head, but this is something that is going to happen when a fighter is turtled up and squirming around. I would agree with a DQ if I see a fighter purposely trying to hit someone in the back of the head, but if he is trying to punch someone on their temple and the other fighters shifts around during the exchange and accidentally hits the back of the head, it shouldn't be considered an illegal blow.

Following that same line of thought, the punch Matt Serra caught GSP with before GSP fell to the ground and got ground and pounded hit GSP in the back of the head. It was a fluke of course. But some people could say, "Technically, that shot hit GSP in the back of the head. Regardless of Serra intent, it is an illegal blow." GSP is one of my favorite fighters, I'm from canada, and if someone had said that, I would have called BS, and gave Matt the win he deserved.

And that's what I consider Silva's shot to the back of the head, a fluke. It wasn't intentional, and that one or two shots were not fight changing.
__________________

1. BJ "The Prodigy" Penn
2. Dan "Hollywood" Henderson
3. George "Rush" St Pierre
MagiK11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
MMA Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 66
czaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura aboutczaq has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagiK11 View Post
Good post, but I have to disagree that it should have been ruled a DQ. If the ref thought the hits were illegal he should have halted the action, took a point away and see if the other fighter could continue and give him time to recoup.

In this case though, that one strike did not have an outcome on the fight in my opinion, but from the ref's point of view I can see how he thought there were several shots which hit the back of his head.

The only thing which surprises me is after watching the replay and even that gif you posted, how you can support not giving Silva a win bonus. But I think we're just going to have to agree to disagree.

EDIT: I checked the gif again, and I don't see the shots hitting the back of his head. I am trying to remain as unbiased as I can, and I think one or MAYBE two hammer fits hit the back of his head, but this is something that is going to happen when a fighter is turtled up and squirming around. I would agree with a DQ if I see a fighter purposely trying to hit someone in the back of the head, but if he is trying to punch someone on their temple and the other fighters shifts around during the exchange and accidentally hits the back of the head, it shouldn't be considered an illegal blow.

Following that same line of thought, the punch Matt Serra caught GSP with before GSP fell to the ground and got ground and pounded hit GSP in the back of the head. It was a fluke of course. But some people could say, "Technically, that shot hit GSP in the back of the head. Regardless of Serra intent, it is an illegal blow." GSP is one of my favorite fighters, I'm from canada, and if someone had said that, I would have called BS, and gave Matt the win he deserved.

And that's what I consider Silva's shot to the back of the head, a fluke. It wasn't intentional, and that one or two shots were not fight changing.
yo, this gif is BS, can`t see sht (not to mention, that in "missed strike" his head magically bounces off). Yamasaki stopped the action, seen prater tko`ed (illegaly), than he stopped the fight. Watch it again. lol, there`s "punch to back of head" in wikipedia record

Last edited by czaq : 01-20-2012 at 12:27 PM.
czaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Flyweight
 
King JLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 458
King JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of lightKing JLB is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by czaq View Post
If it wasn`t of Joe Hogan, 90% of the people wouldn`t be screaming against this DQ.. Even he couldn`t believe his words about clear strikes while watching the replay. I`d say Erick is a new vitor belfort
What a well thought out post. Fail.

I don't now this Joe Hogan guy is, but the replay made it really clear that only one or two of those strikes were illegal. I didn't believe it until after they showed it to Mario. That was a good finish and a bad judgement call by the ref. Notice how he di9dn't stand by making the right decision, he just had to stand by his initial decision which is OK because if he went back on it, his credibility would have been shot.

They could have reversed this though... Fedor, Jones and now Silva have had an unfair loss early in there career... maybe he will go on to dominate...
King JLB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

VerticalSports
Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums
Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
Powered by vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2009 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios