Question: when Hughes won his belt
Iíve had a question and itís probably an old debate around here but I figured this is the place I can find an answer.
I saw a rerun of a Hughes fight on Spike a bit ago and I think it was the fight where he won his welterweight belt. I canít recall the guyís name he was fighting but Iíve seen him in some Pride fight reruns as well. Heís a dark skinned very good Jujitsu guy.
Anyway, the end of the fight, Hughes was caught in a triangle and picked the guy up against the top of the octagon. Then he seemed to slam him to the ground knocking him out, the ref then stopped the fight and gave a ďsurprisedĒ Hughes the win.
The replay however looked as if Hughes actually passed out from the choke and just fell limp and it just happened to knock the other guy out. He happened to come to first and was stunned to see he had won. Now what Iím wondering is, what is the UFCís rule for that type of a situation? I donít know that it was recognized by the ref, but if Hughes passed out first, does he loose the instant he passed out and therefore the other guy had won as he was falling? Or is it whoever regains consciousness first?
Iíve been curious about this fight ever since I saw it. I wonder how that other guy is doing because he seemed to be a very skilled fighter that might have actually won that fight??
Thanks for enlightening me on this one!