Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 106 Posts

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't remember the names of the guys in the first fight, but to me it didn't look like that second knee hit him in the head. It looked like it hit his hand and he wanted an easy win.

Thoughts?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,828 Posts
I didnt see a clear replay of the knee but from what I saw it looked to hit his hand and head also.

Not a blow he couldnt have recovered from.

I think he took the easy way out.
 

·
Super Ultra Great Delicious Wonderful
Joined
·
6,517 Posts
Why should he continue the dumbass cheated if it landed. Don't fight with reckless abandon towards the rules if you don't want DQed. You shouldn't blame the victim in situations like this he was respecting the rules the other guy wasn't.
 

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Why should he continue the dumbass cheated if it landed. Don't fight with reckless abandon towards the rules if you don't want DQed. You shouldn't blame the victim in situations like this he was respecting the rules the other guy wasn't.
Yeah, that's not a fighters mindset at all. That's a very cowardly way out, if you can recover and keep fighting you do, you don't take a seat and get the other guy DQ'd. Get up and prove you're better, it's a bitch move to not fight.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
21,821 Posts
You know I think it landed and I think people get a hard time in situations like this. To many times guys continue when they are not really in a condition to do so and end up losing. When your life goal is on the line you can`t let pride blind you.
 

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
You know I think it landed and I think people get a hard time in situations like this. To many times guys continue when they are not really in a condition to do so and end up losing. When your life goal is on the line you can`t let pride blind you.
But if you can get up you do, it's the other guy's life too, don't let it be taken from him if you can keep fighting.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,806 Posts
It was two knees in a row, so it looked like it was completely intentional. As far I could tell it looked like it connected. If the guy could have fought on, I'm sure he would have. But either way you look at it from his perspective he caught an illegal knee and his hand was broke and he knew either way he wasn't going to win if he continued. If he imbellished his injuries it was probably a smart move on his part.
 

·
Super Ultra Great Delicious Wonderful
Joined
·
6,517 Posts
Yeah, that's not a fighters mindset at all. That's a very cowardly way out, if you can recover and keep fighting you do, you don't take a seat and get the other guy DQ'd. Get up and prove you're better, it's a bitch move to not fight.
It isn't cowardly at all the other guy gaining an advantage by cheating makes it no longer a fair fight. He didn't get the other guy DQed, Uscola's own actions caused the DQ. It is very simple, if you want to avoid a DQ don't illegally foul someone.
 

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
It isn't cowardly at all the other guy gaining an advantage by cheating makes it no longer a fair fight. He didn't get the other guy DQed, Uscola's own actions caused the DQ. It is very simple, if you want to avoid a DQ don't illegally foul someone.
He didn't do it intentionally, who the hell would throw two illegal knees on purpose? The first hit his body and the second didn't look like it landed clean. It is cowardly if you can keep fighting, it's a bitch move and I would lose any and all respect for anyone who would allow an opponent to be Dq'd if they could keep fighting., it's pathetic.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
21,821 Posts
But if you can get up you do, it's the other guy's life too, don't let it be taken from him if you can keep fighting.
But the bottom line is the other guy is fighting with complete disregard for the rules. There are occasional fouls but to me a knee to a downed opponent is an easy one to avoid. I also go t a tip for anybody. If you knee your opponent when he is getting up you are only gonna land one knee, after than he is either standing up or going to a knee to avoid eating knees. That is reality but we constantly see it happen.
 

·
Super Ultra Great Delicious Wonderful
Joined
·
6,517 Posts
He didn't do it intentionally, who the hell would throw two illegal knees on purpose? The first hit his body and the second didn't look like it landed clean. It is cowardly if you can keep fighting, it's a bitch move and I would lose any and all respect for anyone who would allow an opponent to be Dq'd if they could keep fighting., it's pathetic.
He did throw it intentionally at his head. He said he thought he was getting up. You are a ridiculous person go hang out with the Diaz brothers and respect their gangsta no MMA fighter needs you as a fan. MMA isn't a street fight there are rules for a reason and I have no respect for fighters who play loose with them on purpose to try and gain an advantage.
 

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 · (Edited)
But the bottom line is the other guy is fighting with complete disregard for the rules. There are occasional fouls but to me a knee to a downed opponent is an easy one to avoid. I also go t a tip for anybody. If you knee your opponent when he is getting up you are only gonna land one knee, after than he is either standing up or going to a knee to avoid eating knees. That is reality but we constantly see it happen.
He threw the first one to the body, the second looked like he thought the guy was up to his feet. Look I have no idea if the guy could have gotten up, but to me it didn't look like it landed, in the replay it looked like it hit his hand, his head doesn't move like it was hit with a knee. All I'm saying is, if you can continue get up and win the fight. Taking a win by default is a cowardly act, even if you are hit with an illegal shot.

But talking about other fight where illegal things happen, imagine if Hughes had said he couldn't continue after GSP hit him with the second low blow in the second fight.

He did throw it intentionally at his head. He said he thought he was getting up. You are a ridiculous person go hang out with the Diaz brothers and respect their gangsta no MMA fighter needs you as a fan. MMA isn't a street fight there are rules for a reason and I have no respect for fighters who play loose with them on purpose to try and gain an advantage.
Well I can see you've never competed in your life......

The first is to the body and like I said, he thought he was back on his feet when he threw the second one.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
243 Posts
He didn't do it intentionally, who the hell would throw two illegal knees on purpose? The first hit his body and the second didn't look like it landed clean. It is cowardly if you can keep fighting, it's a bitch move and I would lose any and all respect for anyone who would allow an opponent to be Dq'd if they could keep fighting., it's pathetic.
His intentions were for those knees to land on his head. Whether or not they landed is a different story because it was hard to tell from the angles they showed us.

A fighter standing up after a blow to the head doesn't mean he is ready to go. I fail to see your logic.
 

·
Super Ultra Great Delicious Wonderful
Joined
·
6,517 Posts
But talking about other fight where illegal things happen, imagine if Hughes had said he couldn't continue after GSP hit him with the second low blow in the second fight.
Those were landing on his leg and slipping up and clipping him it was clearly unintentional and that happens almost every fight with extended standup. Throwing reckless knees at a downed opponent isn't the same thing.
 

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
His intentions were for those knees to land on his head. Whether or not they landed is a different story because it was hard to tell from the angles they showed us.

A fighter standing up after a blow to the head doesn't mean he is ready to go. I fail to see your logic.
You're applying it to this fight only, I was talking about all fights in general, if you can get up and fight you should. Obviously if you truly cannot continue, more than likely the doctor is going to stop the fight anyway. This is just my opinion, but I think you shouldn't settle for a win by DQ if you can fight.

Those were landing on his leg and slipping up and clipping him it was clearly unintentional and that happens almost every fight with extended standup. Throwing reckless knees at a downed opponent isn't the same thing.
The actions may not be the same, but the result could have been if Hughes had said he could not continue.....
 

·
The Bearded One
Joined
·
4,150 Posts
Perhaps he could´ve got up. Be if he felt even slightly dazzed by the 2nd knew he did the right thing in not getting up.

As mentioned above, some fighters end up loosing fights because of that "get up and fight like a man" bs, when they obviosly are not fully aware of their senses.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
439 Posts
At first I didn't think he b*tched out because he was dominating the fight but when I found out that he hurt his hand, that might be the reason he used that as an excuse to end the fight. He pointed out his hand right away when they were looking at him. Either way, it was an illegal knee and it was the right call.
 

·
"Focus"
Joined
·
10,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Perhaps he could´ve got up. Be if he felt even slightly dazzed by the 2nd knew he did the right thing in not getting up.

As mentioned above, some fighters end up loosing fights because of that "get up and fight like a man" bs, when they obviosly are not fully aware of their senses.
Take your five minutes then and try to get yourself composed. It only makes me mad when the guy could get up and fight and be the same fighter and he chooses not to. Taking a win when you could earn it is what I think is pathetic. If you can't fight anymore, then obviously I don't want a fighter risking his health to continue fighting.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,648 Posts
I dont think either landed on the head. I really dont blaime the ref for thinking it did, i thought it landed intill the replay.
 
1 - 20 of 106 Posts
Top