Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys(and girls)! Im new to this forum and MMA. I have been interested with it for a while but am just joining a class. Im 13 and im not in the best physical shape. Im not very smart or fast and was wondering is there any training i can do to get in better shape. Any help appreciated!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also I am going to try BJJ for ground but i need stand up too so what should i do? Or should i work on just BJJ for now and i have never done any martial arts before( if it helps to know that).

·
Registered
54 Posts
well train BJJ and get some experience, go to grappling tournys and whatever. but its really until your comfortable with your abilities. its not like i can say "hey train for X amount of years" its more than that. hell you could even train both at the same time, but that requires money and at your age, i am pretty sure your parents are paying for your training

·
Registered
106 Posts
http://www.mmaforum.com/training-nutrition/16800-strength-training-help.html

http://www.mmaforum.com/strength-power-training/14007-strength-power-training.html

Seriously though, you're 13. You're still growing. I'd say wait a few more years before trying to bulk up or lose weight, unless you're vastly overweght as is. And even if you are, just attending a martial arts class is going to whip you into shape and better your health, a lot.

Besides, I wouldn't go crazy and facedive into the deep end just yet. You haven't started studying a martial art yet at all? You might get in there and find out that you don't like it, at all. Or you might find that you have more pressing interests than martial arts right now, for your age. Power to you if it is something you turn out to enjoy and you stick with it, I'm just saying though, you never know.

·
Registered
106 Posts