Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the general consensus about training in natural heat.

I have been working in a shed that has no power for a couple months now.

It seems like if I want to do a long workout I would have to get up around 5-6am so I can miss the 90-degree heat.

When I talk about a long workout, I'm putting in over 2-hours of strike training on a 70Lb punching bag.

Is there any way to complement training in the heat with anything to make it better?

For me when I do an hour of training I go through about at least 2-pints of water of sweat and it leaves the body at a rate of almost a half pint every 10-15 minutes.

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Any thoughts guys?

·
Registered
17 Posts
I lived basically outside in a country near the equator for 6 months and this is what I observed. It isn't sacientifically based fact but it seemed to make sense to me: The hotter the temperature of the where you sleep at night, the easier it is to work in heat during the day. I found that when there was hot weather for consecutive days i would sort of adapt to the heat but when there was cooler wether followed by hot wether, it knocked the crap out of me. Also, I worked in the only air conditioned room in an entire town. When I could, I would keep the temperature still pretty warm in the room so that when I left I would not have to re-adjust to the outside air. In other words, the more I could avoid cool enviroments, the more I more adapted my body seemed to be to the heat. I have no idea your living situation and of course if you already live/work without airconditiong then none of this is helpful.