Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
of Nazareth
10,239 Posts

i guess we'll see how brock does in werdum guard after all .
Very cool... on the surface. But then, we've been here before. If there's one thing I know about Brazilians, they dont half go on about their BJJ. All I ever hear from teachers is how awesome X student is. Its his teacher. Paid. Ker-ching. What do you want him to say, "I'm an awesome teacher and that, but Brock is still a bit shit.". Right. That'll get him lots of new students.

All cynicism aside, I loved the hype anyway!! I hope its true. I would love to see it happen!

·
Let Me Bang Bro
1,967 Posts

Reactions: Kin

·
Registered
33 Posts
I'd love to see him compete in the ADCC, I think he has great potential with his BJJ. Brock is still quite new to MMA and martial arts in general, but if its one area I think he can really shine if he puts the effort into it its BJJ. He already has the wrestling which helps him a lot with takedowns and top control. I think an athlete like Brock can excell in almost any sport. Some people are just like that, they learn physical things extremely fast. He's not 20 years old anymore, so I don't know how far he can actually go, but I think its more realistic that he'll be a good ground fighter with submissions and control than an awesome technical striker. If Brock wins his next fight via triangle choke off his back Im gonna choke on my beer, lol.

·
Premium Member
12,900 Posts
As one of my instructers said even if Brock was a white belt he would be a threat cuz he can simply power out of submissions or force em to work. IE: Him vs Hardy (say hardy was 250+ pounds) GSP could have possibily continued to yank it although the technique was slightly off, but a big man like Brock would still be able to force it to work even if it's probably 50% wrong...lolz. In other words he can get away with a lot more...

·
Registered
453 Posts