Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This looks like the place to ask so here goes. I have no formal training and have never fought in something like this before. I have been working out for about 7 months to try to lose weight ( I started at 320 lbs) I am currently 265 lbs 6'3" and I am tired of hearing from arm chair fighters on "what you should do" I am scheduled to fight in august and want to be prepared. I dont think Im some tough guy I just want to give it a shot, any help would be appreciated. thanks

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No I dont have any formal training, other than the usual bar fights and wrestling with friends, the guy Im fighting is supposed to be a wrestler but from what Ive seen of him he isn't real impressive. I have recently started training with a boxing coach and Ive been focusing alot on conditioning. My opponent was gassed after about the first minute in his last fight. I know it sounds a bit crazy but its just something I have to do.

·
Registered
2,163 Posts
Souless said:
Oh ya Its a mma cage fight

Boxing is good just limited. I'd look into find a muay thai instructor and some for of ju-jitsu to compliment your wrestling, then you'll be much better prepared in the furutre espically if you want to make it big time, your skills might be good for the level your at but if that level of training is about standard for most of the competitors in that League or show whatever it is.. half the people on this forum if only half thier training is in truth what we really know would destroy the competition. so you might pick up quite alot here. pay attention to the training threads .

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·