Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve had a question and it’s probably an old debate around here but I figured this is the place I can find an answer.

I saw a rerun of a Hughes fight on Spike a bit ago and I think it was the fight where he won his welterweight belt. I can’t recall the guy’s name he was fighting but I’ve seen him in some Pride fight reruns as well. He’s a dark skinned very good Jujitsu guy.

Anyway, the end of the fight, Hughes was caught in a triangle and picked the guy up against the top of the octagon. Then he seemed to slam him to the ground knocking him out, the ref then stopped the fight and gave a “surprised” Hughes the win.

The replay however looked as if Hughes actually passed out from the choke and just fell limp and it just happened to knock the other guy out. He happened to come to first and was stunned to see he had won. Now what I’m wondering is, what is the UFC’s rule for that type of a situation? I don’t know that it was recognized by the ref, but if Hughes passed out first, does he loose the instant he passed out and therefore the other guy had won as he was falling? Or is it whoever regains consciousness first?

I’ve been curious about this fight ever since I saw it. I wonder how that other guy is doing because he seemed to be a very skilled fighter that might have actually won that fight??

Thanks for enlightening me on this one!

Z
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yea that’s him. Just looked him up. It looks like he hasn’t been doing so well, 12-10.

Anyhow, any ideas on what happened in that fight if you saw it? Or anyone know the subtleties of the rules in that case?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,495 Posts
I think the decision is up to the referee. He obviously saw Newton KO'd, and if Hughes passed out, it wasn't as obvious as the Newton KO. :dunno:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yea that's the fight! Thanks for posting that. It's a great fight but if you watch the end. Look at Matt's hands when he drops. He's out too, and I would wager he went out on the way down, technically first. I was just wonder what the "rules" say about that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
222 Posts
That slam on Carlos Newton was particularly vicious and more obvious to the referee than Hughes passing out on top of Newton.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
That slam is an example of what Hughes is known for. Hughes even said after the fight that he blacked out after the slam, but I guess since they both blacked out and he was the aggressor it went in his favor.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
295 Posts
Real time vs. replay?

You seem to react as I did when I saw this fight live the first time. I thought that Matt put Carlos on the cage to set up a big slam. It did seem to take Matt a long time to complete the slam. After the slam, when Matt popped up and Carlos didn't, I assumed the slam had worked (sometimes it doesn't when you are in the triangle choke) and Matt had won. It wasn't until they aired the replay that fans started to say that Matt was out first. It does seem ironic that the worlds most dominant little boy was actually choked out and he won the title. I try to think of it this way. In a fight at a bar, who would you rather be, the guy who passes out first, or the guy who wakes up first?

Dam my sides hurt, I can't block body punches worth a crap.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
theboz19 said:
You seem to react as I did when I saw this fight live the first time. I thought that Matt put Carlos on the cage to set up a big slam. It did seem to take Matt a long time to complete the slam. After the slam, when Matt popped up and Carlos didn't, I assumed the slam had worked (sometimes it doesn't when you are in the triangle choke) and Matt had won. It wasn't until they aired the replay that fans started to say that Matt was out first. It does seem ironic that the worlds most dominant little boy was actually choked out and he won the title. I try to think of it this way. In a fight at a bar, who would you rather be, the guy who passes out first, or the guy who wakes up first?

Dam my sides hurt, I can't block body punches worth a crap.
No doubt. I was just wondering if there was an actual rule or if it's purely up to the ref. I guess to pose a hypothetical, say two guys head butted/punch/whatever each other at the same time and both visibly KOed. How would that be handled? I guess they would just wait to see who wakes up first?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
If neither could continue, regardless of if they woke up right away or not they would probably go to the judges or just give it a no contest and call it a tie depending on how far into the fight they were
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top