Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
IMO, MMA has evolved past Rampage. He'll never have that LHW title again.
Before any of you Quinton “Rampage” Jackson fanatics out there come bashing this post, hear me out. Let me put it out there and say that I am a true Rampage fan and I have been following him since his Pride days. I find him to be not only an amazing fighter but also one hell of a personality. His wit and humor, along with his caveman strength and KO power, have made him a fighter you cannot easily forget.

He is popular and he can bang with the best fighters MMA has to offer, there is no doubt about that. However, I am also a follower of the evolving sport and, as an analyst, I must be realistic and go against my fanaticism of Jackson and say that he can’t become a UFC champion again.

MMA, particularly UFC, has evolved so fast and so much that Rampage’s style has simply become ineffective. Well, he can still win high profile fights in a different format of MMA fighting but inside the UFC cage, his chance of getting that belt is slim.

1. Too Much KO Mentality

Sad to say, Jackson has become a one-dimensional fighter. Even with his wrestling skills and credentials, he has turned into a fighter with only a single intent in his mind and that is to knock his opponents out. People pay to watch his fights because they want to see his bombs explode on his opponent’s faces. Each time he fights, Rampage fans are often left hoping that he lands that one punch. Unfortunately, it is not that easy anymore. Fighters with half a brain will not just stand there in front of Jackson.

2. No Surprises

The more you see Rampage fights, the more obvious it gets. Rampage’s octagon demise is a set blueprint and it’s just a matter of execution on the fighter’s part. Elite level fighters are highly skilled and disciplined. If they can just execute and stick to the gameplan, they can and will win against Rampage.