Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
The Fun Police
11,565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering who on here actually fights competitively in MMA and also if anyone just trains in it?

just, y'know, cos im nosey like that...so :

Do you Train in MMA?
If so, how long have you trained?

Do you compete?
If so, at what level?

If you don't train in MMA or dont compete, what are the reasons for this?

:)

·
Roll Tide Roll
7,603 Posts
I have trained Jitz, Marine Corps Martial Arts (MCMAP) and Army Combatives for a total of 9 years now. Ive been training in a MMA gym for about 7 months now.

·
The Fun Police
11,565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Cool!

Im a relative Newbie to it as i trained boxing for a bout a yeah then moved onto MMA about 6 months ago.

Doubt I'll ever fight competatively though as my wife recently had a baby so i dont have the time to commit to the training required.

·
You're not terribly important to me
15,563 Posts
Cool!

Im a relative Newbie to it as i trained boxing for a bout a yeah then moved onto MMA about 6 months ago.

Doubt I'll ever fight competatively though as my wife recently had a baby so i dont have the time to commit to the training required.
i'm noob, been doing it for about a month and at the moment i would get whooped and my boxing co-ordination sucks, if you have done it for 6 months you can fight right now if your coach thinks you are ready.

·
The Fun Police
11,565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
oh, i know i could fight right now, but i'd want to train 4-5 times a week for the 3 months prior to a fight but that just isnt possible at the minute.

·
15,563 Posts
oh, i know i could fight right now, but i'd want to train 4-5 times a week for the 3 months prior to a fight but that just isnt possible at the minute.
yeah you need good cardio, technique, flexibility the works, but you'll be starting at amateur so if you already have a pretty strong physique then you would probably win atm.

·