Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this might belong in training (if so, id love it if someone could move it if it can be done), but how (everyone please leave an answer) do you improve your speed and strength.

I was told by my last partner during class that I wasn't striking the right way. according to him, I was just throwing punches (kinda like rock'em sock'em robots) and then he told me to rotate my hips when i did and turn my shoulders over.

I was getting some decent speed and power for a complete beginner, but after this, i focused more on getting the technique down than speed or strength.

Also id appreciate more than a simple "they come with practice". i know that, but im looking for more than just that. something that will help speed it up.

·
Registered
314 Posts
Your partner is correct and unfortunately there is no real quick fix. I still don't have it all down after over 2 yrs. Punching is not a normal, intuitive action. As you get more technically proficient, speed and power will come.

Stick with it.

·
.:Jeet Kune Do:.
5,684 Posts
Wouldn't it be so much easier if they invented Instant Muscle haha One injection and your muscles grow before your very eyes haha

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Your partner is correct and unfortunately there is no real quick fix. I still don't have it all down after over 2 yrs. Punching is not a normal, intuitive action. As you get more technically proficient, speed and power will come.

Stick with it.
ugh eff my life. Im sad now

Wouldn't it be so much easier if they invented Instant Muscle haha One injection and your muscles grow before your very eyes haha
it would indeed, but from what ive been told, muscle has a small amount to do with actual punching strength

·
HeadlessNorseman?
131 Posts