Mixed Martial Arts Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Uber said: drivers are independent contractors not employees.

The US supreme court said: drivers are uber employees, not independent contractors.

This ruling could affect pro wrestling and MMA promotions.

Who classed wrestlers and fighters as independent contractors rather than employees for decades.

It could also bankrupt and kill off uber and similar enterprise if they're unable to appeal or reverse the call.

·
The Title Guy
17,645 Posts
Yeah similar to how I used to do Instacart on a regular basis and still do it on occasion when my day job isn't paying enough. It really sucks considering how we in California underwent that entire proposition vote and everything.

·
Premium Member
7,197 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If this ruling carries over to MMA promotions.

US promotions may be required to provide health insurance for fighters.

Which could cause bellator, PFL, BKFC and others who carry debt to file bankruptcy.

It is a possibility. One which probably won't be acknowledged or commented on for a long time.

Yeah similar to how I used to do Instacart on a regular basis and still do it on occasion when my day job isn't paying enough. It really sucks considering how we in California underwent that entire proposition vote and everything.

I made many posts about california on this forum, over the years.

Later I'll bump the thread I made years back about california trying to ruin MMA with their new ruleset.

Maybe people are in a better position to recognize it now.

·
The Title Guy
17,645 Posts
I actually read the article you posted and it said this was the UK Supreme Court that made this decision. It would effect if the UFC ever did business again in the UK but I seriously doubt this'll effect how the UFC does business everywhere else.

·
Premium Member
7,197 Posts
Discussion Starter #5